As the longest running event of its kind in the Western Hemisphere, the Festival is a leader in the industry. For 32 years, the Festival has consistently produced a successful event providing Flagstaff citizens the opportunity to engage with science in a fun, accessible way.

In the virtual age, the Festival has used online platforms to reach broader audiences. The Festival showcases the spectacular scientific research, updates, and discoveries happening right here in Flagstaff. Visit our YouTube channel to watch recent video presentations.

YouTube Channel

Flagstaff Festival of Science Keynote Speakers and Themes

1990 – Arctic Explorer Will Steger “Science from the Ground Up”
1991 – Apollo Astronaut Jack Schmitt “Science at its Peak”
1992 – Geophysicist Larry Soderblom “Our Changing Planet”
1993 – Paleontologist Walter Alvarez “Science and the Future”
1994 – Space Shuttle Astronaut Linda Godwin “The History of Science in Flagstaff”
1995 – Space Shuttle Astronaut Bonnie Dunbar “Envisioning the Future”
1996 – Ethnobotanist Mark Plotkin “Discover Science”
1997 – Futurist B. Gentry Lee “Science the Ultimate Voyage”
1998 – Storm Chaser Warren Faidley “Forces at Work”
1999 – Aerospace Engineer Donna Shirley “Science Rocks”
2000 – Paleontologist Jack Horner “Huge Impacts”
2001 – X-Files Consultant/Plant Virologist Anne Simon “Extreme Science”
2002 – Astronomer/Comet Discoverer Carolyn Shoemaker “Stellar Science”
2003 – Volcanologist Wendell Duffield “Science Erupts”
2004 – Paleontologist/”Lucy” Discoverer Donald Johanson “Life Forms”
2005 – Treetop Biologist Margaret ‘Canopy Meg’ Lowman “Swing Into Science”
2006 – Maritime Archaeologist James Delgado “Dive Into Science”

2007 – Paleontologist David Gillette “Dig Science”
2008 – Hot Zone Author Richard Preston “Zoom Into Science”
2009 – Apollo Astronaut Alan Bean “Launch Into Science”
2010 – Biospherian Jane Poynter “Livin’ Science”
2011 – Space Shuttle Astronaut John Grunsfeld “Illuminating Science”
2012 – National Geographic Emerging Explorer Alexandra Cousteau “Making Waves”
2013 – Mars Exploration Rover Principal Investigator Steve Squyres “Life in the Extreme”
2014 – DNA Expert Paul Keim “A Grand Adventure”
2015 – New Horizons Mission Principal Investigator Alan Stern “Exploring New Horizons”
2016 – Polar Explorer Will Steger “The Science of Change”
2017 – Mountaineer Kyle Maynard “Engineering Solutions”
2018 – Autonomous Vehicle Expert Raj Rajkumar “Accelerating into the Future”
2019 – Apollo 16 Lunar Module Pilot, General Charlie Duke “To the Moon and Beyond”
2020 – Earth Science Educator and Explorer Christa Sadler “Superpowers of Science”
2021 – Belizean Archeologist Jaime Awe “Stories in Stone”